Thanks to all of the people who submitted nominations and congratulations to our 2017 winner: Jon Gerrard. Visit our YouTube site to see a video highlighting all of the nominees.

anne-lindseyFirst established in 1990, the Anne Lindsey Protecting Our Earth Award (affectionately known as the Earthies)  are presented by Manitoba Eco-Network annually in recognition of achievements in protecting and stewarding Manitoba’s environment.  The environmental community acknowledges the creativity, diligence and commitment of our peers in presenting the award.

In 2011, Anne Lindsey retired from Manitoba Eco-Network after serving for 23 years as Executive Director.  In recognition of her extensive service, the Board of Directors voted to rename Manitoba Eco-Network’s Protecting Our Earth Award in her honour.

For over 20 years, Manitoba Eco-Network has provided recognition to groups and individuals for their contributions in promoting sustainability and protecting ecosystems with its annual award. Anne, an award winner herself, provided inspiration and mentoring for many of the groups and individuals who have won the award over the years. Anne has been active on nearly every environmental issue that concerns Manitoba.  She helped spearhead the campaign in the 1980s that kept nuclear waste out of this province, led initiatives on children’s health, and raised awareness about toxicity in our environment. It was under her leadership that the Manitoba Eco-Network took on important causes like food, climate change, and water.

Previous Winners

Dennis Cunningham; Gerry Dube; Curt Belton; Anders Swanson; Vicki Burns; Alice Chambers (twice); Sasha Kopelow; Anne Lindsey; Helen McCullough; Eva Pip; Jennifer Shay; David Barnes; Janine Gibson; Glen Koroluk; John Barker; Nick Carter; Walter Danyluk; Joe Dolecki; Kenneth Emberley; Bill Goddard; Claude Huot; Peter Miller; Dave Kattenburg; Brian Pannell; Mitch Podolak; Dan Soprovich; Don Sullivan; Roger Turenne; Harvey Williams; Ian Greaves; Ruth Pryzne ; Randall McQuaker; Sisler’s Sustainability Circle; The Landless Farmers Collective; Daniel McIntyre/St. Matthews Community Association; Organic Food Council of Manitoba; Anishinaabe Turtle Island Protectors; Brandon and Area Environmental Council; Concerned Citizens of Manitoba; Concerned Citizens of the Valley; Friends of Oak Hammock Marsh; The Global Change Game; Manitoba Naturalists Society; Organic Producers Association of MB; Rainforest Action Information Network; Resource Conservation Manitoba; Save Our Seine; Western Canada Wilderness Committee – MB; Harvest Moon Society; The ‘Idle Free Girls’; Assiniboine Credit Union; Ron Thiessen; The Forks, Target Zero Project; Greg Holden; Fred Tait; Noah Erenberg; Habitat Re-Store; Harvest Collective; Humbodt’s Legacy; Manitoba Environmental Council; The Mathias Colomb Cree Nation; Val Werier; Carl Driedger; Helen Fallding; Richard Gamble and the Lake Winnipeg Foundation; Dave Pancoe, Northern Soul Wilderness Adventures; Manitoba Nature Summit.

Lifetime Achievement

Carl Ridd; Carolyn Garlich and Peter Miller