Anne Lindsey Protecting Our Earth Award


2021 Nominations now open
Deadline: November 10th, 2021

Nomination form

In 2011, Anne Lindsey retired from the Manitoba Eco-Network after serving for 23 years as Executive Director. In recognition of her extensive service, the Board of Directors voted to rename Manitoba Eco-Network’s Protecting Our Earth Award in her honour.

For 30 years, Manitoba Eco-Network has provided recognition to groups and individuals for their contributions in promoting sustainability and protecting ecosystems with its annual award. Anne, an award winner herself, provided inspiration and mentoring for many of the groups and individuals who have won the award over the years. Anne has been active on nearly every environmental issue that concerns Manitoba. She helped spearhead the campaign in the 1980s that kept nuclear waste out of this province, led initiatives on children’s health, and raised awareness about toxicity in our environment. It was under her leadership that the Manitoba Eco-Network took on important causes including food, climate change, and water.

2020 Nominees

WINNER: “The team at Brooklands School has embraced their jobs as educators. They have a lens through which they design their lessons and learning experiences that are firmly rooted in growing a love of the Earth. The team has three major educational experiences that are the fruit of this love.” – Rex Ferguson-Baird, Brooklands School principal.


Inspired by conversations with other educators who had done a ‘two-week outdoor challenge’ with their own classrooms, in the spring of 2015, four classrooms held their own two-week outdoor challenge. Now, Brooklands School staff move their classrooms outdoors for six weeks each year, rain or shine. Bringing learning outdoors has allowed the educators to foster a love of nature in their students and deliver valuable lessons which cannot be learned in a regular classroom. Teacher Shannon Siemens explains, “Before I can teach my students to save the Earth and be environmentally responsible, for them to be global citizens, they need to know and love what it is they are being asked to save”.

School staff also partnered with the Manitoba Eco-Network and other community-based organizations to depave an unused section of asphalt and build a community garden and outdoor classroom. During the growing season, these spaces bring together school staff, students, parents and community members, to learn, grow and eat together.

Brooklands School staff have also created a robust cycling program, which includes 80 bicycles available for student use. Cycling education to teach students about active transportation, cycling safety, and bicycle repair, is provided in partnership with community organizations like the WRENCH.

Kakeka Thundersky “Kakeka tirelessly fights for protecting Indigenous sovereignty and land. She has led several local direct actions here, supports other land defenders in other provinces, and has lead/supported solidarity rallies (for Wet’suwet’en and Mi’kmaqui fishermen, among others). She also works in harm reduction and does other community grassroots organizing work.”

Camp MorningStar was established in response to the proposal of the Wanipigow Silica Sand Extraction Project by Canadian Premium Sand (CPS). The Camp provides education on the dangers of silica sand mining, pushes for government reassessment of the project, and advocates for meaningful community consultation.

2019 Nominees

*Sponsored by the Assiniboine Credit Union

WINNER: The Lake Winnipeg Community-Based Monitoring Network trains citizen scientists to collect water samples across Manitoba, which helps decision-makers take action to improve the health of Lake Winnipeg.


Alexis Kanu (Lake Winnipeg Foundation) and Anne Lindsey in 2019.

Geraldine McManus established Spirit of the Buffalo, a prayer camp set up where she teaches visitors about reconciliation and the importance of protecting land and water.

Lorena Mitchell works in the renewable energy sector as the founder and president of Evolve Green, designing and installing solar and wind systems across the province.

2018 Nominees

WINNER: Turtle Lodge Indigenous Education and Wellness Centre in Sagkeeng First Nation has been leading initiatives on environmental stewardship for over 15 years. The Lodge is a place for sharing universal and ancient knowledge, for reconnecting to the earth and nature, and for sharing among people of all races and nations. We are incredibly inspired by their accomplishments bringing Indigenous knowledge into the national conversation on climate change. If you are interested in knowing more about Turtle Lodge, and the important work they do, please click here.

Caroline Chartrand who has protected more than 24 plant varieties from extinction, focusing on heirloom vegetables grown by the Red River Metis. For more information about Caroline Chartrand and her work please click here.

Justin Lecocq who has founded an eco-village and trained young people to stand up for wilderness protection. For more information about Justin and his work, please visit the Wilderness Committee website here.

The Meechim Project who have brought the gardens back to Garden Hill Manitoba with a farm and market that promotes healthy eating and creates jobs. For more information on the Meechim Project and the work they do please view their Transformation Stories here.

Chief David Crete who worked to protect the Fisher River Cree Nation traditional territory and helped establish Fisher Bay Provincial Park. For more information about Chief Crate and his work, please click here.

Turtle Lodge; Dennis Cunningham; Gerry Dube; Curt Belton; Anders Swanson; Vicki Burns; Alice Chambers (twice); Sasha Kopelow; Anne Lindsey; Helen McCullough; Eva Pip; Jennifer Shay; David Barnes; Janine Gibson; Glen Koroluk; John Barker; Nick Carter; Walter Danyluk; Joe Dolecki; Kenneth Emberley; Bill Goddard; Claude Huot; Peter Miller; Dave Kattenburg; Brian Pannell; Mitch Podolak; Dan Soprovich; Don Sullivan; Roger Turenne; Harvey Williams; Ian Greaves; Ruth Pryzner; Randall McQuaker; Sisler’s Sustainability Circle; The Landless Farmers Collective; Daniel McIntyre/St. Matthews Community Association; Organic Food Council of Manitoba; Anishinaabe Turtle Island Protectors; Brandon and Area Environmental Council; Concerned Citizens of Manitoba; Concerned Citizens of the Valley; Friends of Oak Hammock Marsh; The Global Change Game; Manitoba Naturalists Society; Organic Producers Association of MB; Rainforest Action Information Network; Resource Conservation Manitoba; Save Our Seine; Western Canada Wilderness Committee – MB; Harvest Moon Society; The ‘Idle Free Girls’; Assiniboine Credit Union; Ron Thiessen; The Forks, Target Zero Project; Greg Holden; Fred Tait; Noah Erenberg; Habitat Re-Store; Harvest Collective; Humbodt’s Legacy; Manitoba Environmental Council; The Mathias Colomb Cree Nation; Val Werier; Carl Driedger; Helen Fallding; Richard Gamble and the Lake Winnipeg Foundation; Dave Pancoe, Northern Soul Wilderness Adventures; Manitoba Nature Summit.

Carl Ridd; Carolyn Garlich and Peter Miller